Comptroller Offers Federal-State Tax Institutes in November for Registered Individual Tax Preparers

- New Legislation Requires Fed and MD Preparers to Register and Continue Education -

Annapolis, MD (October 25, 2012)

Today, Comptroller Peter Franchot announced the dates and locations for the 2012 Federal and State Tax Institutes, which will be offered in Baltimore, Easton, Frederick and Greenbelt in November. The pre-registration fee is $90 and the walk-in registration fee is $150.

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and the Comptroller of Maryland now require individual tax preparers to be registered to prepare taxes in that state of Maryland. Additionally, at both the federal and state level, there is a Continuing Education (CE) requirement for registered preparers. Each year, the Comptroller of Maryland provides the institutes, in conjunction with the IRS, to keep Maryland’s preparers up-to-date on new legislation, processes and policies for the upcoming filing season. To better serve the tax preparer community, the Comptroller’s Office is an official CE provider and attendance at one of the affordable one-day institutes will count toward satisfying the CE requirements for Maryland’s registered individual tax preparers.

The 2012 tax institutes are offered at various locations throughout the state from 7:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. on the following dates:

• Friday, November 9, 2012
The Milestone (formerly Krystal Q Reception Hall and Catering)
9630 Technology Drive
Easton, MD 21601
•Wednesday, November 14, 2012
Holiday Inn
5400 Holiday Drive
Frederick, MD 21073 
• Friday, November 16, 2012
Martin’s Crosswinds
7400 Greenway Center Drive
Greenbelt, MD 20770
• Monday, November 19, 2012
Martin’s West
6817 Dogwood Road
Baltimore, MD 21244

A total of eight credits toward CE requirements will be given for attending one of the institutes.
In the state of Maryland, tax preparers must apply for, be granted and annually renew a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) in order to legally prepare returns. Additionally, the preparer must be registered by the Maryland Board of Individual Tax Preparers. The Maryland registration requires that the preparer have a current, valid PTIN, as well as be at least 18 years old with a valid High School diploma or General Education Development (GED).

The registration fee for the initial two-year registration and subsequent bi-annual renewal is $100. The expiration date will be two years from the date of issuance. A renewal applicant must complete at least 16 hours of qualifying continuing education for each two-year registration term, of which at least four hours must be in Maryland tax-related subjects.

Individuals who fall within one of the following categories are exempt from the state registration requirement and can prepare taxes without registering with the Maryland Board of Individual Tax Preparers. These exempt categories include:

• a current, active CPA registered by Maryland or any other state;

• an individual in good standing and admitted to practice law in the state or in another state;

• an individual employed by a local, state, or federal governmental agency but only in performance of official duties;

• an individual enrolled to practice before the Internal Revenue Service who is governed under circular 230;

• an individual serving as an employee of or assistant to an individual tax preparer or an individual exempted under this subsection in the performance of official duties for the individual tax preparer or the individual exempted in bullets above.

For additional information about the 2012 tax institutes, please visit 2012 Federal/State Tax Institutes. To learn more about Maryland’s registration requirements, visit

MEDIA CONTACT: Caron Brace, (410) 212-9414 (cell)