Comptroller of Maryland. Serving the People. Peter Franchot, Comptroller
Comptroller of Maryland
Maryland Taxes: Find all tax-related information and services. Maryland's Money: Resource for transparent financial reporting. Comptroller of Maryland: Information and resources for government agencies, state employees, vendors, and the general public. Media Services: Outlet for agency and Comptroller news. Online Services: Links to all agency online services and applications. Search Engine: Find it Fast! Translate the website to many languages Home Page

Maryland Masters Award

The Maryland Masters Award program seeks to recognize public school students who have displayed extraordinary artistic skills, talents, and a vision for Marylandís future. During the 2013-2014 school year, 55 students from 19 jurisdictions throughout the state took part in the program. The Comptroller's goal this year is to make sure selected students from each of Marylandís 23 counties and Baltimore City, in grades K-12, have a piece of original artwork on exhibit in the Comptrollerís Office in Annapolis. The artwork will be on display for a two-month period during the 2014-2015 school year.

The Comptroller's Office has requested that each superintendent provide one piece of art from three grade levels -- elementary school, middle school and high school. In total, three pieces of art will be displayed from each of the 24 jurisdictions. Each student will be invited to a special unveiling ceremony in the studentsí home county along with their families, art teachers, classmates, school officials, and elected leaders.*

Any form of artwork will be accepted (painting, drawing, sculpture, etc.); however, paintings and sketches must be pre-framed and suitable for display upon receipt by the Comptrollerís Office. To submit selected studentís work for the award, please send a color PDF or JPG of the artwork, along with the student information form to Emily Hollis at .

Art unveiling ceremonies will be scheduled through Emily Hollis in conjunction with the school systemís arts coordinator upon receipt of the jurisdictions' three art submissions.

For more information, please read the FAQ

Nominations are not being sought for the 2016-2017 school year. 

The following students received the inaugural Maryland Masters Award for the 2013-14 school year:

  • Anne Arundel County
     Desmond Wright, 4th Grade, Central Special School
    Julian Lahdelma-Sanders, 8th Grade, Brooklyn Park Middle School
    Vivian Tejada, 12th Grade, North County High School
  • Baltimore County
    Haley White, 5th Grade, Glenmar Elementary School
    Maria Karvounis, 7th Grade, Hereford Middle School
    Jasmine Gilliam, 12th Grade, Randallstown High School
  • Calvert County
    Madelyne Matthews, 2nd Grade, Beach Elementary School
    Cameron Benton, 8th Grade, Mill Creek Middle School
    Adam Kohn, 12th Grade, Huntingtown High School
  • Caroline County
    Bethany Grunden, 8th Grade, Colonel Richardson Middle School
  • Carroll County
    Anna Ruby, 7th Grade, West Middle School
    Courtney McCracken, 9th Grade, Century High School
    Chris Scott, 12th Grade, Westminster High School
  • Cecil County
    Maverick Rau, 3rd Grade, Kenmore Elementary School
    Lauren ďNikkiĒ Gray, 8th Grade, Rising Sun Middle School
    Paulaina Gabbert, 12th Grade, Rising Sun High School
  • Charles County
    Tahir Qayyum, 6th Grade, Benjamin Stoddert Middle School
    Chinazam Ojukwu, 9th Grade, Westlake High School
    Abby Belote, 12th Grade, La Plata High School
  • Dorchester County
    Kameron Phillips, 5th Grade, Choptank Elementary School
    Steffi Webster, 8th Grade, Maceís Lane Middle School
    Kayla Cannon, 12th Grade, Cambridge-South Dorchester High School
  • Frederick County
    Mia Sims, Kindergarten, Deer Crossing Elementary School
    Mary Lagnese, 8th Grade, Middletown Middle School
    Brad Eisenhauer, 12th Grade, Governor Thomas Johnson High School
  • Harford County
    Jasanveer Aulakh, 4th Grade, Emmorton Elementary School
    Alexus Walz, 8th Grade, Aberdeen Middle School
    Kenzie Targarona, 12th Grade, C. Milton Wright High School
  • Howard County
    Jayden Kelly, 2nd Grade, Rockburn Elementary School
    Sarah Cooper, 7th Grade, Glenwood Middle School
    Kaitlynn Motley, 12th Grade, Howard High School
  • Montgomery County
    Nicholas Tucker, 5th Grade, Piney Branch Elementary School
    Pauline Turla, 8th Grade, Newport Mill Middle School
    Adam Anderson, 12th Grade, Winston Churchill High School
  • Prince Georgeís County
    Egypt Nash, 3rd Grade, Overlook Elementary School
    Jada Pigford, 8th Grade, Benjamin D. Foulois Creative & Performing Arts Academy
    Nataly Martinez-Ayala, 12th Grade, High Point High School
  • Queen Anneís County
    Emma Draper, 2nd Grade, Centreville Elementary School
    Sean Hobbs, 7th Grade, Matapeake Middle School
    Olyvia Utterback, 12th Grade, Kent Island High School
  • St. Maryís County
    Avery Kent, 4th Grade, Evergreen Elementary School
    Taylor Bahen, 7th Grade, Margaret Brent Middle School
    Jessica Burroughs, 12th Grade, Chopticon High School
  • Talbot County
    Kaleigh Hammond, 2nd Grade, Easton Elementary School
    Maisie Hambleton, 7th Grade, St. Michaels Middle-High School
    Chandler Willey, 11th Grade, Easton High School
  • Washington County
    Alexus Smetzer, 4th Grade, Bester Elementary School
    Haley Rodriguez, 8th Grade, Springfield Middle School
    Anastasia Fedorko, 11th Grade, Clearspring High School
  • Wicomico County
    Grace Ann Davis, 4th Grade, Fruitland Intermediate School
    Patrick Rafferty-Lehosit, 8th Grade, Wicomico Middle School
    Kira Kim, 12th Grade, Wicomico High School
  • Worcester County
    Kamau NíDirangu, 3rd Grade, Cedar Chapel Special School
    Meghan Hall, 6th Grade, Berlin Intermediate School
    Miki Katna, 12th Grade, Stephen Decatur High School


Links for Comptroller Initiatives
Agency Information
Office of the Comptroller
Comptroller Initiatives
  Shop Maryland Energy
  Shop Maryland Tax-free Week
  Silver Hammer Award
  Legislative Initiatives
  Money Saving Tips for Motorists
  WD Schaefer Helping People Award
  Bright Lights Award
  End Montgomery County Alcohol Monopoly
  Agency Accomplishments
  Start School After Labor Day
  Contact the Ombudsman
  Life Sciences Promotion
  Maryland Masters Award
  Reform on Tap Task Force
  Golden Apple Award
  Financial Literacy
  Better With Less Award
  Cool Classrooms
Download for Adobe Reader Homepage