Comptroller of Maryland. Serving the People. Peter Franchot, Comptroller
Comptroller of Maryland
Maryland Taxes: Find all tax-related information and services. Maryland's Money: Resource for transparent financial reporting. Comptroller of Maryland: Information and resources for government agencies, state employees, vendors, and the general public. Media Services: Outlet for agency and Comptroller news. Online Services: Links to all agency online services and applications. Search Engine: Find it Fast! Translate the website to many languages Home Page

Silver Hammer Award

As a member of the Board of Public Works, which approves the state's annual Public School Construction Program, Comptroller Franchot is proud of the state's unprecedented capital investments in education.
However, state and local governments continue to feel the severe effects of our national recession, and in these times of tough choices, we simply lack the money to meet all new construction priorities. In order to maximize the lifespan of our state's existing public school facilities -- and to ensure that children who attend school in older buildings have the same positive learning experience as their counterparts in newer ones -- we must renew our commitment to superior public school maintenance.

Through the Comptroller's visits to public schools across our state, he has seen many examples where effective maintenance - including simple and affordable investments like a fresh coat of paint, new carpeting or a good power washing -- have made a world of difference. In addition to providing communities with a renewed sense of pride in their schools, research has confirmed the obvious and positive impact that clean, attractive and comfortable facilities have on student performance.

It is in that spirit that the Comptroller established a special recognition - the "Silver Hammer Award" - for schools that have demonstrated a commitment to fiscal responsibility through superior school maintenance. 


2016 Winners:

Allegany County- Fort Hill High School
Anne Arundel County- Overlook Elementary School
Baltimore City- Highlandtown Elementary/Middle School
Baltimore County- Cockeysville Middle School
Calvert County- Mutual Elementary School
Caroline County-  Federalsburg Elementary School
Carroll County- Cranberry Station Elementary School
Cecil County-  Charlestown Elementary School
Charles County-  North Point High School
Dorchester County-  Cambridge-South Dorchester High School
Frederick County- Oakdale Middle School
Garrett County- Southern Garrett High School
Harford County- Patterson Mill Middle/High School
Howard County- Guilford Elementary School
Kent County- Henry Highland Garnett Elementary School
Montgomery County-  Captain James E. Daly, Jr. Elementary School
Prince George’s County-  Martin Luther King, Jr. Middle School
Queen Anne’s County-  Grasonville Elementary School
St. Mary’s County- Oakville Elementary School
Somerset County- Deal Island Elementary School
Talbot County-  Chapel District Elementary School
Washington County- Clear Spring Elementary School
Wicomico County- Northwestern Elementary School

Links for Comptroller Initiatives
Agency Information
Office of the Comptroller
Comptroller Initiatives
  Shop Maryland Energy
  Shop Maryland Tax-free Week
  Silver Hammer Award
  Legislative Initiatives
  Money Saving Tips for Motorists
  WD Schaefer Helping People Award
  Bright Lights Award
  End Montgomery County Alcohol Monopoly
  Agency Accomplishments
  Start School After Labor Day
  Contact the Ombudsman
  Life Sciences Promotion
  Maryland Masters Award
  Reform on Tap Task Force
  Golden Apple Award
  Financial Literacy
  Better With Less Award
  Cool Classrooms
Download for Adobe Reader Homepage